New Release!Instant Delivery Available!

Narada Michael Walden: Drumming, Spirit and Music


A biographical, historical and educational book on the drumming of Narada Michael Walden.

Narada Michael Walden: Drumming, Spirit and Music $29.99$44.99

US orders shipping now. UK/Europe/Rest of World shipping week of 7/15.

Written by drummer/educator Aubrey Dayle under Walden’s direct supervision, the book documents the life, playing, and producing career of an artist who has achieved success as a chart-topping producer, but is known to drummers as one of the titans of fusion.

Narada Michael Walden has blazed a path from the drum chair in one of the most legendary bands of all time to chart-topping success as a producer. As a drummer, solo artist, composer, and producer, Walden has achieved excellence in a career that is unequaled in the music world. Author Aubrey Dayle takes an insightful look at Narada’s life and work. Part biography and part scholarly analysis, the book includes incredibly detailed transcriptions of Narada’s drum parts, educational and historical discussion, and video lessons (by the author) explaining and demonstrating how the parts were played. Also included are interviews with John McLaughlin (Mahavishnu Orchestra), Ralphe Armstrong, Gayle Moran, and Steve Smith, and foreword by Billy Cobham.

Bursting onto the international music scene as the drummer who came after Billy Cobham in the Mahavishnu Orchestra, Narada has gone on to perform, write and record with artists in a wide range of genres. Songs discussed in detail include:

  • “Eternity’s Breath, Parts 1 & 2” (Mahavishnu Orchestra)
  • “Cosmic Strut” (Mahavishnu Orchestra)
  • “Vision is a Naked Sword” (Mahavishnu Orchestra)
  • “Led Boots” (Jeff Beck)
  • “Cannon Ball” (Weather Report)
  • “Come On, Come Over” (Jaco Pastorius)
  • “Black Market” (Weather Report)
  • “How Will I Know” (Whitney Houston)
  • “Freeway of Love” (Aretha Franklin)
  • “Let It Rain” (Journey)

Never-before-seen photos from Narada’s personal collection, note-for-note transcriptions, instructional videos, setup diagrams, and enlightening text come together to create an exciting record of Narada Michael Walden’s amazing body of work.

240 pages | Color |Includes Video

Narada_Michael_Walden_Drumming_Spirit_and_Music-sampleClick to Download this Preview as a PDF.


Format: Our eBooks are viewable in our free reader apps, available for iOS and Android devices, as well as our web browser-based book reader (no app required). We offer books in this format in order to provide enhanced audio and video integration, not available in standard pdf formats. Our eBooks are not delivered as pdf files.

Printing: Printing for books is not available for our eBooks, which are designed as digital-only products. While many of our eBooks have identical print edition versions available, many are available in eBook-only format.

Audio: For eBooks that feature audio, you simply tap a given stave of notation and audio playback will begin. We also provide stand-alone audio files for you to download, for increased flexibility.

Video: For eBooks that feature video, you will be able to view them directly within the eBook. We do not provide stand-alone video files for download at this time.

Internet Connection: To access your eBook and to access audio or video within our eBooks, your device will need to be connected to the internet. Media is streamed into the books in realtime, to help keep our downloads small and fast, and reduce the amount of storage space used on your device. An active internet connection is required to access and view books.

Refunds: We are not able to issue refunds for digital purchases. Please click here to contact us if you are having an issue with your purchase and we will work to resolve.

More Questions? Click here to visit our Support Page to view more questions and answers, or to ask a question of your own.